skip to Main Content
Why Are Chakras Important?

Why are chakras important?

  • News

Why Chakras are important and how Reiki can help.

The seven chakras are the energy centres of our bodies: it is through our chakras that energy flows or alternatively, can be blocked. A chakra (or chakras) can become blocked through daily stress, deep seated worries or traumatic events and this can lead to feelings of negativity at best and physical illness at worst. Reiki aims to help by unblocking this negative energy and allowing the chakras to become effectively aligned for a healthier, happier existence.

The seven chakras are as follows:

  1. Root Chakra.

This is located in the base of the spine and tailbone area and represents our foundation or feelings of being grounded. Emotional and physical issues associated with a blocked root chakra include fears around survival, being provided for and financial and family (or group) security while lower back pain, sciatica, constipation and problems within the legs represent physical symptoms.

Treating the root chakra with Reiki unblocks this energetic area, assists in the sense of being grounded and supported and can alleviate these physical symptoms.


  1. Sacral Chakra.

This chakra is located about 1-2 inches below the navel and deals with our sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure and sexuality. Imbalances within this chakra may be indicated through lower back, pelvic, or hip problems and obstetric/gynaecological imbalances as well as difficulties within relationships, abundance, power and control.

Often associated with trauma, Reiki can help bring deeply suppressed emotions to the surface (especially anger) and allow us to finally embark on a definitive healing journey through alignment of the sacral chakra.

  1. Solar Plexus Chakra.

Located in the upper abdomen in the stomach area, the solar plexus chakra is our power centre, a place which holds our ability to be confident and in control of our lives. Physically, eating disorders, diabetes, fatigue and indigestion are some illnesses associated with an imbalanced solar plexus chakra, whilst emotional issues are centred around self-worth, self-confidence and self-esteem.

When blockages are lifted, we have cleared the way to take action in our life, be more confident and courageous.

  1. Heart Chakra

Centred in the chest above the heart, this chakra represents our ability to love. Imbalances within the heart chakra may cause heart issues, asthma or allergies, lung cancer or breast cancer whilst emotionally, we may feel lonely, disconnected from ourselves and others, resentful, depressed, grief, have a distrust in love and lack compassion.

In aligning this chakra through Reiki, we allow ourselves the opportunity to accept one of our greatest needs, to be loved by others and in turn, offer our own love.

  1. Throat Chakra

Representing our ability to communicate and located in the throat, this chakra is centred around speaking our truth in every sense. Thyroid problems, sore throat and swollen glands are obvious physical symptoms of an imbalanced throat chakra whilst emotionally we may be fearful of being judged, afraid of silence or rejection.

Reiki unblocks this chakra and allows us to express ourselves, tapping into our creativity and dreams.

  1. Third Eye

Located between the eyebrows, this chakra allows us to ‘see’ the non-physical, is where our intuition lies and is our ability to focus on and view the ‘big picture’. Physical issues may be related to the brain such as stroke, seizure and neurological disturbances, whilst becoming distrustful of our intuition is a strong emotional indicator of imbalance.

Unblocking this chakra with Reiki can be an effective way of opening up the power of our own intuition.

  1. Crown Chakra

At the very top of our head, the crown chakra is our highest and represents our ability to be completely connected with source energy, the Universe or spirituality and the pure bliss of life. Misaligned crown chakras can lead to depression or chronic exhaustion, anxiety, fear and a lack of trust in life itself.

Reiki can unblock this chakra, allowing us to be more in touch with source energy and its guidance, have more trust in life and the ability to revel in the joy it brings.


Negative energy blocks our chakras, from deeply traumatic events of decades past to seemingly insignificant and frustrating disturbances, to our routine just this morning! Regular Reiki treatments can bring our chakras back into balance, leaving us with a sense of peace, joy and empowerment.

Thank you to for this article’s inspiration. Read more detail here:



Back To Top